Harris County Home Page



Program Name:


9401 Southwest Freeway
Houston, Texas 77074


Additional Information :

How to select a CFC Provider

CFC frequently asked questions

Community First Choice services include:

Personal Assistant Services (PAS): assistance with ADLs and IADLs through hands-on assistance, supervision, and/or cueing.

Habilitation (HAB): acquisition, maintenance, and enhancement of skills necessary for the individual to accomplish ADLs, IADLs, and health-related tasks

Emergency response services (ERS): backup systems and supports to ensure continuity of services and supports. Backup systems and supports include electronic devices to ensure continuity of services and supports and are available for individuals who live alone, who are alone for significant parts of the day, or have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time, and who would otherwise require extensive routine supervision.

Support Management: voluntary training on how to select, manage, and dismiss attendants. This is a voluntary service that offers practical skills training and assistance related to recruiting, screening, hiring, managing, and dismissing attendants.

Support Consultation: An optional service for those who use the CDS option that is provided by a support advisor and provides a level of assistance and training beyond that provided by the Financial Management Services Agency (FMSA) through Financial Management Services (FMS). Support consultation helps anemployer to meet the required employer responsibilities of the CDS option and to successfully deliver program services.

PAS and HAB will be available through the CDS option.


ADLs means basic personal everyday activities including, but not limited to, tasks such as eating, toileting, grooming, dressing, bathing, and transferring.

IADLs means activities related to living independently in the community, including but not limited to, meal planning and preparation, managing finances, shopping for food, clothing, and other essential items, performing essential household chores, communicating by phone or other media, and traveling around and participating in the community.

All CFC services are provided in a home or community-based setting, which does not include a nursing facility, hospital providing long-term care services, institution for mental disease, intermediate care facility for individuals with an intellectual disability or related condition, or setting with the characteristics of an institution.


To be eligible for Community First Choice services an individual must:

  • Be a child or an adult who is eligible for Medicaid.
  • Meet an institutional level of care, including:
    • hospital,
    • a nursing facility,
    • an intermediate care facility for individuals with an intellectual or developmental disability,
    • an institution providing psychiatric services for individuals under age 21, or
    • an institution for mental diseases for individuals age 65 or over.
  • Need help with activities and instrumental activities of daily living (ADLs and IADLs), such as dressing, bathing and eating.

Texas began the Community First Choice program on June 1, 2015. This means:

  • Individuals on a 1915(c) waiver interest list who meet eligibility and coverage requirements may be eligible to get Community First Choice services.
  • Individuals already getting services through a 1915(c) waiver will continue to get those services as they do today from their existing providers.


In order to access Community First Choice services through The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD, you may contact (713) 970-7070.

You may also request Community First Choice services through your Medicaid Managed Care Organization at:

United Healthcare 1-800-349-0550
Molina Healthcare 1-866-409-0039
Amerigroup 1-866-696-0710 ext36171
Superior 1-800-783-5386

For help in selecting a CFC provider, click here.


Is there a limit on the amount of CFC services individuals may receive?
There is not a defined annual cost limit for CFC. However, the amount of CFC services an individual receives is based on an assessment of an individual's need for the service and consideration of unmet needs as developed by the service planning team, using a person-centered planning process.

Does CFC replace respite?
No. CFC does not replace respite. Respite will remain a service in the waiver programs. Respite is not changing as part of this initiative. Respite cannot be provided at the same time as CFC PAS/HAB.

Is there an interest list for CFC or is it an "entitlement"?
No, there is not an interest list for CFC. CFC is a Medicaid State Plan entitlement service and must be provided to those individuals that meet the eligibility criteria. Individuals receiving services through the DADS Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IDD) waivers who have an identified need for CFC will receive these entitlement services through their current IDD waiver provider.

For a list of all CFC frequently asked questions, click here.